Vindonissa, located in what is today called Windisch, was an important Roman legion's camp. The ruins of the camp are open for viewing. The monastery church of Königsfelden, which is well known for its unique glass windows (that date back to the 14th century), is located in the middle of these ruins.
The Romans called it Leuca Fortis – “strong Leuk” – and until the 19th century this was one of the ecclesiastical and cultural centres of the Valais. Defiant towers, castles and fine patrician houses bear witness to the former strength, self-confidence and determination of the community. The emblematic Bishop’s Castle (built 1254), town hall, late-gothic St. Stephen’s Church (with its romanesque tower and roman fi replace) and baroque Ringacker Chapel can be seen for miles around.
On the Legionnaire’s Path in Windisch visitors can immerse themselves in the fascinating history of Switzerland’s only Roman Legionnaire’s camp.