The history of this inn goes as far back as 1364, although the current building structure dates from the 17th century. Between 1990 and 1992 the building was completely renovated in cooperation with the Department for the Preservation of Historic Buildings and Monuments. The 3rd generation of this family-owned guesthouse manages it with much dedication and cultural sensitivity. The halls can accommodate between 20 and 100 guests.
A 30's style hotel, located in the heart of the monastery. The family Guler has owned and managed it since it opened its doors in 1938. Three 3 junior suites were added in 2003. The legendary Chesa restaurant boasts 15 Gault Millau points and serves a cuisine that adapts to fresh market produce. In the Chesa Bar there is live music, while eating raclette becomes a whole new experience in the Carigiet Bar and Tavern with its bowling alley.
This old building of over a hundred years has lost none of its former charm and grandeur. Visitors from around the world are enchanted with the nostalgic rooms, the impressive staircase and the sophisticated manner in which this has remained a young hotel. Still run by its founding family, this is a place where aficionados, gourmets, children, artists and nature lovers feel right at home.
In 1883, Rudolf von Salis-Muralt commissioned the famous architect Nicolaus Hartmann to transform this 1590 farmhouse into a stately patrician villa. Since 1982, the Chesa Salis has been a hotel with the charm of a private home. Meter thick walls radiate warmth and aristocratic generosity. 18 comfortable guest rooms bear witness of old-world craftsmanship. In the comfortable lounges, guests enjoy culinary delights and regional specialties.