A visit to the castle is a journey across eight centuries of architecture, history and culture. The castle was the residence of the counts of Gruyères.
The castle, constructed in the 13th century, was home to a long succession of Gruyères counts. Michel, the last of them, faced financial difficulties and declared bankruptcy in 1554. The creditors - the towns of Fribourg and Berne - shared his land between them. The Castle became the headquarters of the Fribourg bailiffs (1555-1798), then the prefects' residence until 1848. It was put up for sale in 1849 and became the property of the Bovy and Balland families, who stayed there in summer and took care of restoration of the site with their artist friends. In 1938, the State of Fribourg bought the Castle and opened a museum.
Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.
"Gruyères" is a thrilling multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). 18 minutes duration, available in 8 languages, it brings the visitor out of time, on a discovery of the wonderful story of the castle. Every day, every 30 minutes.
Multimedia show « Gruyères »
%file:14106% with image
|Access for the disabled at ground level (including temporary exhibitions) as well as to the multimedia show. Please contact us concerning access to the Chateau.|
|Guided tours in French, German, English, Italian, Spanish or Russian upon request.|
April to October: 9:00-18:00
November to March: 10:00-16:30
Adults: CHF 10.-
Seniors, students: CHF 8.50
Kids (6 to 16): CHF 3.-
Students (with teacher): CHF 1.-
Groups (from 15 pers.): CHF 7.50
Castle and HR Giger Museum: CHF 17.-
Castle and La Maison du Gruyère - Cheese dairy: CHF 14.50 (only for adults)
Castle and Tibet Museum: CHF 15.-
The content presented here is provided and updated by regional/local tourist offices, which is why Switzerland Tourism is unable to guarantee the correctness of the contents.