The free Walsers settled in the Calfeisen Valley as early as the 14th Century. The church of St. Martin was first mentioned in the annals of 1432.
On the Legionnaire’s Path in Windisch visitors can immerse themselves in the fascinating history of Switzerland’s only Roman Legionnaire’s camp.
The villa of the Hermitage Foundation solely houses changing art exhibitions. What is permanent is the magnificent view of Lake Geneva and Notre-Dame Cathedral, a view that inspired the leading landscape painter Camille Corot.
The last emperor of France lived high above Lake Constance, in the middle of a large park, in a tastefully furnished castle. Today's Napoleon Museum contains the original furnishings. The park has recently been restored.