The free Walsers settled in the Calfeisen Valley as early as the 14th Century. The church of St. Martin was first mentioned in the annals of 1432.
This museum is dedicated to Brother Klaus (Nicholas of Flüe, 1417-1487), father and hermit, farmer and visionary, politician and mystic, and Switzerland's only saint.
On an over 1500-meter area in the Lindwurm Museum, at the heart of Stein am Rhein’s Old Town, visitors experience close-up views of how respected families lived and made a living way back in 1850.
Well-preserved traditional village at the gateway to the Lower Engadine, with a terraced landscape and a brewery.