The Gasthof zum Hirschen in Stammheim is very closely linked to the Family Wehrli from the city of Zurich, who built the Hirschen way back in 1684 and owned it up until the end of the 18th century. In 1941 the Wehrli family then bought back the guesthouse. Thereafter, bit by bit, the facade and windows in particular, and interior rooms were lovingly restored and maintained in their impeccable state as viewed today.
Together with the surrounding group of buildings, the Hirschen portrays an intact ensemble best described as a real treat to the eye. And externally, apart from the picturesque bay-window-type extension from the 18th century, the Hirschen presents itself very much in original form. In terms of structure and colour it represents one of the many half-timbered houses so typical to the region. The extension, height of the floors and building dimensions however exhibit a more representative family seat - as well as superb guesthouse still today. Visual demands are more than met with the magnificent furnishing of the stately rooms, adjoining areas and edifice as a whole. Six tiled stoves from the 18th and early 19th century remain in use - but these are not the only things that enhance the establishment's ancient charm; instead the deeply rich nature of original and intact substance.
The culinary offer of the guesthouse is also firmly anchored in the region – and much of the produce, wine included, stems from the environs. Both wine and food menus are equally as tasteful and very good value for money too.
The ICOMOS work group "Historic Hotels and Restaurants" awards the prize for the "Historic Hotel of the Year" in cooperation with hotelleriesuisse, GastroSuisse and Switzerland Tourism.